Michigan Tech Hosts Inaugural Mobility Summit




Michigan Technological University hosted the inaugural MOBILITY SUMMIT on April 20, 2017 featuring guest speakers Paul Rogers, Director of the US Army Tank Automotive Research Development and Engineering Center (TARDEC), Michigan Department of Transportation (MDOT) Director Kirk Steudle and nearly two dozen university researchers.

Rogers opened the Summit focusing on the challenges associated with unmanned vehicles (UV) today, citing the Army’s long history in UV research and development in comparison to industry’s relatively new entry into the field and the steps to be taken before connected/automated (CV/AV) vehicles dominate the roadways.

The attendees then heard presentations from 18 researchers highlighting mobility research at Michigan Tech. Topics ranged from connected and autonomous vehicles to technology enabling mobility, infrastructure, education, cybersecurity and human factors.  Researchers from six university departments or centers took part in the presentations.

In addition, a poster session provided the audience with more in depth information on mobility research featuring student and researcher projects, educational opportunities and facilities available at Michigan Tech.

Keynote speaker Kirk Steudle closed the event by outlining Michigan’s Planet M, Govern Snyder’s initiative to recognize Michigan as a leader in mobility and encouraged Michigan Tech to participate in the initiative.  Steudle updated attendees on recent legislative actions affecting connected and automated vehicles in the state and highlighted the American Center for Mobility (ACM) as an example of Michigan’s leadership in the field.

The event was organized and sponsored by Michigan Tech’s mobility-affiliated research centers and institutes including the Advanced Power Systems Research Center and Mobile Lab (APSRC), Keweenaw Research Center (KRC) and the Michigan Tech Transportation Institute (MTTI) plus the Vice President of Research Office, Electrical and Computer Engineering Department, Mechanical Engineering and Engineering Mechanics Department and the College of Engineering.